Arunachal Governor flags off Indo – Bhutan Friendship Car Rally 2017


The Governor of Arunachal Pradesh Brig. (Dr.) B.D. Mishra (Retd.) flagged off the second edition of Indo – Bhutan Friendship Car Rally 2017 at Itanagar on 21st November 2017.

In his address to the participants prior to the flag off ceremony, the Governor expressed his hope that the event will further help in cementing the age-old relationship and friendship between India and Bhutan. He also wished that it provides a platform for exposure of traditional and cultural association and tourism potential of Arunachal Pradesh and Royal Kingdom of Bhutan.

Stating that Arunachal Pradesh shares 160 km of international border with Bhutan, the Governor pointed that the rally will enhance people-to-people contacts between India and Bhutan. It will also showcase the potential for adventure and motor sports in Arunachal Pradesh.

The Governor said that India and Bhutan have very friendly relations for a long time. Both countries have been standing shoulder to shoulder both during easy and difficult times. People of India and Bhutan have an inalienable cooperation to maintain their sovereignty, integrity and geographical entity.

The Governor called upon the participants from both the countries to carry the message of Prime Minister of India,  Narendra Modi that India and Bhutan are one and will stand as one to face any adversity. He also urged upon them to carry forward the goodwill message for each other’s country.

The Governor commended the rally drivers for their enthusiastic participation and adventurous spirit.

Arunachal Governor flags off Indo – Bhutan Friendship Car Rally 2017


The Rally is organized by the International Friendship Car Rally Association, Dirang, West Kameng District and sponsored by Dept of Tourism, Govt. of Arunachal, Car manufacturing companies – Hyndai & Nissan.

The route followed will be Itanagar – Basar – Mechuka, which will be coinciding with Adventure@Mechuka festival – Basar – Itanagar – Guwahati – Phuentsoling and culminated at Thimpu on 28th November 2017. A total of seventeen cars are in the rally.

According to Mr. Pem Sonam, President, International Friendship Car Rally Association, the Indian Team is led by Mrs Anshu Jamsenpa, World Record Holder and 5 Times Mt. Everest Summitter and other members are Mr.  Duyu Tamo, Managing Director, Duyu Tour and Travels, Mrs Juri Kalita, Mr. Taram, Miss Tashi Tsomu, Mr Biplab Jyoti Doley, Mr Bitopan Kashyap, Mr Priyanku Brush, Mr Kimangshu Sharma and Mrs P.  Vashamo and Miss Ravoalo Slam, from Nagaland.

The Bhutanese Team is led by Karma Lhatrul Dorji Rinpoche. The team includes Mr. Jigme Wangchuk, Mr. Kinga, Mr. Sonam Dorji, Mr. Kuenzang wangchuk, Ms. khandu om, Mr. khandu and Ms Nim Dem.

The 1st Edition was flagged off by Chief Minister  Pema Khandu on 23rdOctober 2016 from Tawang and the route followed and places covered were Tawang- Bomdila- Itanagar-Guwahati-Phuentsoling and culminated at Thimpu on 26th October 2016.


Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button