Arunachal: PD Sona, Tesam Pongte all set to become next Speaker and Deputy Speaker of APLA

PD Sona and Tesam Pongte filed nomination for Speaker and Dy. Speaker post of Arunachal Legislative Assembly ( APLA )



BJP MLA from 33 Mechuka Assembly Constituency Phasng Dorjee Sona and BJP MLA from 52 Changlang South Assembly Constituency  were the only two candidate on Monday filed their nomination for the post of Speaker and Deputy Speaker of Arunachal Pradesh  Legislative Assembly.

The election for both posts will be held on Tuesday, second day of  the  first session of the Seventh Legislative Assembly. It is assumed that both Sona and Pongte all set to become the next speaker and Deputy Speaker of APLA respectively.

Both the BJP legislators have filed their nomination papers  at the office of  Pro-tem Speaker Phosum Khimhun here in the Assembly premises. They were accompanied by Chief Minister Pema Khandu, Deputy Chief Minister Chowna Mein and others council of minister and MLAs.

Watch Video

“Today, I have got one nomination paper each for the post of Speaker and Deputy Speaker. PD Sona filed nomination for Speaker and Tesam Pongte for Deputy Speaker,” the Pro-tem Speaker said.

Sona’s name was proposed by Balo Raja and seconded by Laisam Simai while Pongte’s name was proposed by Wanglam Sawin, he stated.

Watch Video 

The BJP has absolute majority in the 60-member Assembly House. The party won 41 seats in the recently concluded Assembly polls. JDU have got seven seats, NPP five, Congress four, PPA one and Two independent candidate have also managed to come. Three women candidate are also in the assembly. He added.


Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button