BJP will Support Arunachal’s PPA Government from outside-Himanta Biswa Sharma



BJP has decided to support the new PPA government of Arunachal Pradesh from the outside. With that said, the decision of BJP joining the new PPA led government in Arunachal Pradesh will be taken during the BJP national convention scheduled to be held by this month’s end, disclosed NEDA convenor and  Assam’s Minister Dr. Himanta Biswa Sharma while talking to journalists in Itanagar.

Himanta-with-PPA-GOVOn the rumours surrounding PPA MLAs joining BJP, Dr. Himanta said that such things are only being said by press as neither BJP nor PPA have confirmed these rumours for now. He also denied accusations that BJP encouraged the MLAs into switching their party allegiance from Congress to PPA. He said it was the PPA’s internal political matter and that BJP only came into the spotlight after the congress MLAs joined PPA.

When asked that whether the PPA MLAs, who won the election under the congress banner are betraying the people of Arunachal Pradesh, Arunahcal Pradesh CM Pema Khandu said that decision has been taken keeping in mind the current ground reality. He added that although it’s true that the we have won on a congress ticket, but the people have repeatedly requested the MLAs to form a government led by a regional party

He said that the people are well aware of PM Narednra Modi’s attachment to the north east and the MLAs too played their part in the PM’s initiative by joining the PPA which is under BJP via NEDA, hence it will be wrong to say that we have betrayed the people

NEDA came in to existence recently in May this year after Sarbananda Sonowal was sworn in as Assam’s new CM. The objective of NEDA is to free North East India from the grip of the Indian National Congress. With NEDA’s establishment, the Assam state government has become partners with Sikkim and Arunachal state governments. BJP is already a partner in the coalition government of Nagaland.  Out of the 8 North eastern states including Sikkim, only Meghalaya, Manipur and Mizoram remain under Congress rule while Tripura is currently under communist government.



Related Articles

Back to top button