Arunachal CM inaugurates Shi Yomi, the new district of state

Shi Yomi, the new district carved out of Mechuka, Pidi, Tato and Monigong circle of West Siang District, inaugurated by Pema Khandu, CM, Arunachal Pradesh.



Chief Minister Pema Khandu today inaugurated the Shi Yomi district in presence of MoS Home Kiren Rijiju, DCM Chowna Mein, MLA PD Sona and State BJP President Tapir Gao.

Following the inauguration, Additional Deputy Commissioner of Mechuka read out the notification for creation of Shi Yomi district. This was followed by ceremonial flag handover to the Deputy Commissioner M Dirchi and Superintendent of Police G Dajangju of the newly created Shi Yomi district by Chief Secretary Satya Gopal and DGP SBK Singh respectively.

The district curved out of Mechuka, Pidi, Tato and Monigong circle of West Siang District was a long felt demand, which the subsequent state government failed to fulfill it, said Khandu. Owing to its large geographical area, inaccessible terrains and the district headquarters Aalo being far from these four circles, the state assembly gave its assent to the creation of this new district.

Congratulating the people of Shi Yomi for the new district, Chief Minister said the task of building the new district now begins. He  urged all the local  communities – Memba, Adi and Tagin of the new district to think in one line and walk together to build a prosperous and developed district.

Thanking the people for donating land for government establishments for free, Chief Minister urged to set priorities right as the government can’t afford lavish spending. He promised that in the coming budget session, provision for funds for the development of infrastructure will be kept. For the development of crucial infrastructure required for immediate functioning of the district headquarters, Chief Minister assured to sanction the required funds.

To celebrate the occasion, a mega dance was performed by local women and students.


Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button