North East

Assam- Adivasis Blockade Railway Track demanding ST status



By Kanak Boro

The  Adivasi National Convention Committee today carried out 11-hour railway blockade at Kokrajhar railway station to press for their demands, including ST status for communities residing in Assam and to expedite the peace talk with the rebel groups in ceasefire, allotment of land & rehabilitation to the evicted Adbasis, permanent allotment of land and land pattas to the tea garden workers in Assam.

The blockade started from 6 am this morning affecting the movement of trains along the route.

Committee General Secretary Bir sing Munda, who is also the commander-in-chief of militant group(Ceasefire) Birsa Commando Force, said the blockade was enforced in protest against the government’s attitude towards granting ST status to tea tribes and Adivasis of Assam and non-process of peace talk with the rebel groups.

Meanwhile a senior official in Kokrajhar district administration said the government already sent formal invitation to the group for talk scheduled for December 23 next.

Trains controlled due to Rail roko

In view of the Rail roko called from 05-00 hrs by Adivasi National Convention Committee of Asssam at Kokrajhar station the following trains are controlled


12345 Saraighart Express is controlled at New Alipurduar station w.e.f. 05-25hrs

15645 Lokmanya Tilak – Guwahati Express is controlled at New Coochbehar station w.e.f. 06-35hrs

15635 Okha – Guwahati Dwarka Express is controlled at New Coochbehar station w.e.f. 07-55hrs

14056 Brahmaputra Mail is controlled at Falakata station w.e.f. 09-55 hrs.

13282 Rajendrangar-New Tinsukia Express is controlled at Alipurduar station w.e.f. 07-10 hrs.

12551 Yesvantpur – Kamakhya Express is controlled at New Mal Jn station w.e.f. 10-15 hrs.

15654 Amarnath Express is controlled at New Jalpaiguri station

15959 Kamrup Express is controlled at Kishanganj station

15661 Ranchi – Kamakhya Express is controlled at Malda town station

12517 Kolkata  – Guwahati Express Garibnath Express is controlled at Barsoi station

13248 Rajendranagar  – Guwahati Express controlled at Kishanganj station

12506 North East Express controlled at Katihar station


12423 Rajdhani Express controlled at New Bongaigaon station w.e.f. 09-15 hrs.

12510 Guwahati – Bangalore Express controlled at Bongaigaon w.e.f. 09-55 hrs.

15620 Kamakhya – Gaya Express controlled at Goalpara Town w.e.f. 09-30 hrs.

15960 Kamrup Express controlled at Barpeta Road station.


Related Articles

Back to top button