Arunachal: Satellite imagery being utilise to trace Tapi Mra and Niku Dao

The district administration is continuously passing on details to the family members of Mra and Dao.

ITANAGAR-   Satellite imagery is being used to trace Tapi Mra, the first mountaineer from Arunachal Pradesh to conquer Mount Everest, and his associate Niku Dao, who had gone to climb the state’s highest peak and have remained untraceable for the past 20 days on Monday.

East Kameng district’s Deputy Commissioner Pravimal Abhishek Polumatla on Monday said that they are trying to study the satellite imagery of the National Remote Sensing Centre and Shillong-based North East Space Applications Centre, but yet to get any clue as to the location of these mountaineers. The district administration is continuously passing on details to the family members of Mra and Dao.

Also Read-  Search Operation for Tapi Mra and Niku Dao continues

Polumatla said that Mra has taken up an expedition to Mt. Kyarisatam (Mt. Chiumo) which is located at the India-Tibet border at an altitude of 6,890 metres. However, Mra and Dao have been untraceable since August 17 as reported by the remaining six members of the expedition who reached Seppa from their expedition base camp on August 29 evening.

Also Read- Despite the bad weather, Search operation for Tapi Mra, Niku Dao went ahead

He said that persistent rain for the past few days has led to swelling of all rivers – including Kameng, Kania and Wapriyang Bung. Four Army helicopters remained on standby to undertake an aerial search, once the weather clears, to trace the two missing mountaineers.


The state government has sought help from Indian Army’s Tezpur-headquartered Gajraj Corps in the search and rescue mission.

Watch Video- 

Tapi Mra is a celebrated mountaineer in North-East India and the very first person from Arunachal Pradesh to scale Everest. Mra belongs to the Tagin tribe from the Upper Subansiri district of the State. Mountains climbed by Tapi Mra include

  1. Island Peak or Imja Tse, (6160 m), Nepal – 24 April 2007.
  2. Mera Peak (6654 m), Nepal – 20 Jun 2008.
  3. Mount Everest (8848 m) – 21 May 2009.
  4. Uhuru Peak of Mount Kilimanjaro (5895 m) – 19 February 2010.
  5. Mount Kosciuszko (2228 m), Australia – 31 May 2011.


Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button