Arunachal: Maintain peace in Nyishi-inhabited areas- NES


As a fall out of an interaction of the senior executive members and some contesting candidates of the ongoing election of the assembly constituencies on Wednesday, a broader level meeting of the central executive members, chairmen of the District unit/representatives with the contesting candidates was conducted on Sunday.


The prime agenda of the meeting was of confidence building measures and to avert any sort of post-poll violence in the Nyishi inhabited 14 assembly constituencies. Earlier, the top rung of the NES had a marathon discussion with the Chief Electoral Officer and his team on 1st May and with the Chief Secretary and top cops on 8th May.

With the re-poll at 28-Nampe polling booth under 21-Koloriang AC and 6-Gimba under 20-Tali AC slated on 21st May, the members present decided to pre-empt any scope of post-poll violence, loss of lives and properties in the 14 assembly constituencies inhabited by the community with special emphasis on the Nyishi heartland-the capital complex.

After going into the pros and cons, the following resolutions were adopted in the first meeting of its kind as under-

(i)  All the contesting candidates shall be responsible for maintaining post-poll peace and tranquillity in their respective constituencies;

(ii)  The Nyishi Elite Society shall explore  formation of an appropriate Peace Monitoring Committee (PMC) as and when situations demands for each zone/constituencies involving the candidates (or) representatives; and,

(iii)  Anyone found to be indulging in the post-poll related violence shall be fixed personal responsibility and sternly dealt at the social fora in addition to lawful action.

NES leaders appeal all stake holders to work for peace and tranquillity in the area for all round development of state and also for communal harmony and prosperity.

NES President Bengi Tolum, Secretary General Heri Maring and other cabinet colleague, former CM and MP West Arunachal and Sagalee INC candidate Nabam Tuki, Arunachal West NPP Candidate Khyoda Apik, Independent candidate R Jomoh, MLA Candidate Mama Natung, Ealing Talang, Hayeng Mangfi, Biyuram Wahge, Kipa Babu, Nabam Vivek, Tarh Hari, Dominic Tadar, Taba Tedir, Bamang Felix, Tai Nikio, Dayum Yara and members from Nyishi Nem Achum(NNA) and others were present on the occasion.


Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button