Hindu College Awarded its Illustrious Alumni at the 17th edition of Distinguished Alumni Awards-2019

Chief Minister of Arunachal Pradesh, Pema Khandu graced the awards ceremony as the Chief Guest & the renowned Film maker Imtiaz Ali was the Guest of Honour.

New Delhi

The Old Students’ Association (OSA) of Hindu College, University of Delhi organized the 17th Distinguished Alumni Awards-2019 at the silver Oak, India Habitat centre in the Capital on 27th of July, 2019.

Chief Minister of Arunachal Pradesh, Pema Khandu graced the awards ceremony as the Chief Guest & the renowned Film maker Imtiaz Ali was the Guest of Honour.

The OSA Hindu College Distinguished Alumni Awards annually recognizes Outstanding Achievers who have excelled in their respective fields and made a significant contribution to the society at large.

The Old Students Association (Since the Hindu College Centenary Celebrations in 1999-2000) has been annually recognising its distinguished alumni in the awards functions, a glittering celebration that grows every year by leaps and bounds. The Old Students’ Association (OSA) of Hindu College was established in 1958.

This year OSA is celebrating its Diamond Jubilee, as the association has completed 60 years. Since its inception, the Association has been active in bringing the eminent alumni of the Hindu College, Delhi on one platform. On this occasion Hindu College alumnus Mr. Imtiaz Ali has revealed that he will be holding a special screening of his upcoming film AajKal at a theatre in Delhi for the Hindu College alumni on Valentine’s Day next year.

Imtiaz said, ‘Hindu College and its alumni are like an extended family to me and it is always good to share what you do with your family. I hope they enjoy the film.’ Hinduite Mr. Hardeep Singh Puri, in a tweet ‘Despite a busy day, one always looks forward to an evening with friends & college mates. Delighted to meet some very accomplished & eminent Hindu College alumni at the 17th Distinguished Alumni Awards presided over by my friend Pema Khandu Ji.

‟ Hinduite Mr. Pema Khandu in his tweet said ‘It was an absolute honour and delight to be amongst the achievers of my alma mater Hindu College. Humbled to attend the 17th Distinguished Alumni Awards 2019 as Chief Guest organised by Old Students‟ Association, Hindu College.

‟ In an another Retweet Indian Navy Officer Hinduite Captain DK Sharma „ What an electric atmosphere in the hall. Met up with so many distinguished alumni under one roof. Well done Ravi Burman Sir for making it happen yet again.

‟ Mr. Ravi Burman, President, Old Students’ Association (OSA), Hindu College said, “We aim to get more and more young alumni on board and work towards scaling up the activities that we do under the aegis of OSA, Hindu College which will help develop a better connect among the alumni.”

The 17th Distinguished Alumni Awards-2019 felicitated the following alumni of the Hindu College:


  1. HARDEEP SINGH PURI (IFS Retd.), Minister of State (Independent Charge) of the Ministry of Housing and Urban Affairs; Minister of State (Independent Charge) of the Ministry of Civil Aviation and Minister of State in the Ministry of Commerce and Industry; Special Award for Outstanding Contribution to Public Service
  2. RAO INDERJIT SINGH, Minister of State (Independent Charge) of the Ministry of Statistics and Programme Implementation and Minister of State (Independent Charge) of the Ministry of Planning; Special Award for Outstanding Contribution to Public Service
  3. ASHOK LAVASA (IAS Retd.), Election Commissioners of India; Special Award for Alumnus of the Decade
  4. CHIEF JUSTICE RAVINDRA S. BHAT; Special award on his elevation as Chief Justice, Rajasthan High Court


  1. Dr. ANUP WADHAWAN (IAS) – Secretary, Department of Commerce, Ministry of Commerce and Industry, Government of India; Excellence in Civil Service
  2. TARUN SHRIDHAR (IAS) – Secretary, Department of Animal Husbandry & Dairying, Ministry of Fisheries, Animal Husbandry and Dairying; Excellence in Civil Service
  3. A. GITESH SARMA (IFS) – Secretary (West), Ministry of External Affairs, Excellence in Foreign Affairs
  4. JUSTICE PRATEEK JALAN – Judge Delhi High Court; Excellence in Legal Affairs
  5. JUDGE DIVYA K SARANG – Sixteenth Judicial Circuit, Kane County, Illinois, USA; Excellence in Legal Affairs
  6. Prof. AVINASH KHARE – Vice Chancellor of Sikkim University; Excellence in Academics & Education
  7. AMITAVA KUMAR – Writer, Journalist and Professor of English on the Helen D. Lockwood Chair at Vassar College, New York; Excellence in Literature
  8. SABRINA DHAWAN – Professor of Dramatic Writing at the Tisch School of the Arts, New York University; Excellence in Screenplay & Cinema
  9. RAVNEET GILL – MD and CEO of Yes Bank; Excellence in Banking
  10. PARABJOT SINGH DHILLON – Excellence in Sports
  11. PRADEEP GOEL – CMD, Prudent Arc Limited; Excellence in Corporate Sector


  1. Dr. ARUNABH SINGH – Director, Nehru World School, Ghaziabad; Excellence in Education
  2. AKASH BANERJEE – Excellence in Political Satire & Media

 Many illustrious Hinduites graced the occasion.


Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button