Chowna Mein Convened Joint Meeting to Discuss shifting and functioning of Divisional Commissioners


Consequent upon the decision of the State Govt to make the East and West Divisional Commissioners functional from their respective Divisional Headquarters, Deputy Chief Minister, Chowna Mein has convened a joint meeting of Group of Ministers and Chief Engineers of Eastern Zone to work out modalities for early shifting and functioning of their respective zonal offices today.

Mein expressed thankfulness to the Chief Minister Pema Khandu for his bold and pragmatic decision towards equitable development of all the regions of the state.

He said that though the Divisional Commissioners East and West were created long back it has never come into reality as all the Zonal Offices are centrally functioning from the state capital till date.

The devolution of administrative and financial powers to the two Divisional Commissioners by the govt will meet the objective of federal system of governance which aims at equitable development of all the regions of the state. It will help the government percolate down to the people besides bringing in better administration.

He stated that for immediate functioning of Divisional Commissioner (East), the office has to be shifted to its divisional headquarter at Namsai at an early date and the Zonal Office of line departments has to be shifted in the eastern zone as per the convenient and availability of the infrastructures of the departments.

The members present in the meeting unanimously decided to shift the Zonal Offices of various line departments on as is whereas basis as per the availability of existing infrastructures to facilitate immediate functioning of their offices and to shift the office of DIG (east) to Khonsa, headquarter of Tirap District.

Decision were also taken to clearly define the jurisdiction of eastern zones by the concerned departments and the Chief Engineers were also asked to submit the estimates of their minimum requirements of man power and infrastructure within a week period.

Members have also decided to contribute fund from their available resources too for creation of infrastructure for office buildings and accommodation of the staffs in addition to the funding and support from the state govt.

Kamlung Mossang, Minister of WRD, Food & Civil Supply and Geology & Mining, Wangki Lowang, Minister of Agriculture and DoTCL, Honchum Ngandam, Minister of Education, Alo Libang, Minister of PR & RD, Dr Mohesh Chai, Minister of Animal Husbandry & Vatenary, Diary Development, Art & Culture, Wanglin Lowangdong, Chief Advisor to Chief Minister, Chow Zingnu Namchoom, Parliamnetary Secretary for Planning & Investment and Chief Engineers of the Eastern Zone of various line departments were present in the meeting.


Related Articles

Back to top button