BJP wins Arunachal and Assam by-poll


BJP wins Arunachal and Assam by-poll. In Arunachal Hayuliang Assembly Constituency and in Assam Lakhimpur Lok Sabha Constituency and Baithalangso Assembly Constituency won by BJP.

Dasanglu Pul, of BJP won the Hayuliang Assembly by-poll after defeating her lone rival Yompi Kri, an Independent candidate, by 942 votes. Dasanglu secured 5,326 votes while Kri could secure 4,384 votes in the by-poll held on November 19. Dasanglu is the youngest of three wives of former Arunachal Pradesh chief minister Kalikho Pul. The  Hayuliang by-poll election was necessitated following the death of former Arunachal Pradesh Chief Minister  and Dansanglu’s husband Kalikho Pul.

         dasanglu-pul     Mansing Rongpi     pradan-baruah

              Dasanglu Pul                                       Mansing Rongpi                                 Pradan Baruah

The by-poll results once again boost the morale of BJP  in north eastern states.  Out of the five seats that three have been won by the  BJP  and the rest two went to Communist Party of India (Marxist) kitty.

BJP registered win in both the constituencies that went for by-poll on November 19 in Assam – the Lakhimpur Lok Sabha constituency and Baithalangso assembly constituency.

Lakhimpur seat was won by Sarbananda Sonowal in 2014 but he had to vacate it after he became the state’s chief minister. Pradan Baruah, who was an MLA till now, was given ticket by the BJP to contest the Lakhimpur seat. He won the seat by a margin of around 2 lakh votes. The total number of votes polled by him was 5,51,663, (54.88%) whereas his nearest rival Hema Hari Prasanna Pegu of the Congress polled 3,61,444 (35.96%).

By-poll in Baithalangso seat was necessitated after Congress’ MLA Mansing Rongpi resigned after he deserted the party and joined the BJP. Rongpi too won handsomely by polling 72,160 votes (53.77%) against his nearest rival Ruponsing Ronghang of Congress who got 55,560 (41.4%). With Baithalangso seat coming to BJP’s kitty, the tally of the party in the 126-member state assembly will go up to 61.

Back to top button