Arunachal Pradesh: Kalikho Pul’s expends his cabinet


Arunachal Pradesh Chief Minister Kalikho Pul on expanded his 15-day-old ministry by inducting two Deputy Chief Ministers–Kameng Dolo and Chowna Mein– along with five cabinet ministers.

Governor Jyoti Prashad Rajkhowa administered oath and secrecy of office to the newly-inducted ministers at the Raj Bhawan in presence of high-level police and civil officials, BJP and PPA MLAs including two Independent members supporting the Pul government.pul's new cabinet

Rajya Sabha MP from the state Mukut Mithi, former Chief Minister Gegong Apang and PPA CWC Chairman Kamen Ringu were among others who attended the function. However, all the 15 Congress MLAs were not present in the swearing-in ceremony.

Dolo had earlier served as the deputy Chief minister in the Gegong Apang government during 2004 while Chowna Mein was the Agriculture and Horticulture Minister in the Nabam Tuki government before being dropped last year.

The newly-inducted cabinet ministers include Kumar Waii, Lombo Tayeng, Kamlung Mossang, Wangling Lowangdong and newcomer T Norbu Thongdok. While Waii was the RWD minister in the previous government, Tayeng was the former Tourism minister in the council of ministers led by Gegong Apang.

Mossang was the IFCD minister in the last government along with Lowangdong who had served as the Social Welfare, Women and Child Development minister. Thongdok was the present Deputy Speaker of the state assembly who resigned from the post yesterday.

Pul, sworn in as the eight Chief Minister of the state on February 19 last after months of political turmoil, joined the Peoples’ Party of Arunachal (PPA) along with 29 dissident Congress legislators on March 3 last.


Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button