Two Congress MLAs resigned from Arunachal Assembly

News desk/

In a sudden development on Monday, two Congress MLAs of Arunachal Pradesh resigned from the state assembly, with the Assembly Speaker issuing a notification saying that their resignations have been accepted, and the two constituencies they represented had fallen vacant. The reasons for their resignation, however, could not be ascertained.

Reports from Itanagar quoting the notification issued by the Speaker’s office said that the two MLAs – Gabriel Denwang Wangsu and Wanglam Sawin who were elected from Kanubari and Khonsa East LACs – had actually put in their papers on September 16 which were finally accepted by the Speaker on September 30.

Sources in Itanagar, however, said the two were under pressure from some quarters to resign. Wangsu and Sawin come from constituencies that are located in Tirap and Longding, two districts which have a significant presence of both factions of the NSCN. While Wangsu, a former journalist had won a by-election for Kanubari in October last year following the death of minister Newlai Tingkhatra, Sawin was elected from Khonsa East on a People’s Party of Arunachal (PPA) ticket in April 2014, but joined the Congress in December


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *