Talem Tapok retires as secretary Agriculture and Information & Public Relation


Secretary, Agriculture and Information & Public Relation Departments, Govt of Arunachal Pradesh, Mr Talem Tapok on  Wednesday retired after serving the government for 37 years and 9 months in various capacities.  He was given a befitting farewell in the Chief Secretary’s Office in a simple  function today.

He did his graduation from the Gauhati University, Assam and was a Gold Medalist in Master of Arts in Political Science. He joint the Govt Service as Lecturer (Political Science) at Jawaharlal Nehru College, Pasighat on 31st August 1981.

Later, he qualified the State Civil Service Exam and joint as Extra Assistant Commissioner on 4th July 1986. He served the State Govt in various capacities as Director, Joint Secretary, Deputy Commissioner and Secretary. He was inducted to Indian Administrative Service on January 2012. At the time of his superannuation, he was holding the charge of Secretary, Agriculture and Information & Public Relation Departments, Govt of Arunachal Pradesh. His length of service in the Govt was 35 years and 9 months.

Speaking on the occasion, Shakuntala D Gamlin, Chief Secretary said that Tapok was a sincere and efficient officer. While wishing him healthy and wholesome life after retirement with his family, she said that even after superannuation, services of the retired govt officers shall be sought whenever requires as they are the think-tank for the govt having vast experienced and knowledge.

Bilatee Pertin, Commissioner (West & DoTCL) said that Tapok was a charismatic, compassionate, loving, simple and polite person. He had a smooth service life and discharged his duty with sincerity and dedication in his entire length of service.

On the occasion, General Administration also bid farewell to Manoharan Nair, Under Secretary (Finance) who attained superannuation on May 31, 2017. He joied the State Govt Service on 6th August 1979 as Stenographer and served the state govt for 37 years and 9 months.

Among others, Satya Gopal, Principal Secretary, Commissioners, Special and Additional Secretaries were also present on the occasion.