Arunachal : AFSPA extended in Tirap, Changlang and Longding

New Delhi

The Armed Forces (Special Powers) Act ( AFSPA, 1958 ) in Tirap, Changlang and Longding districts of Arunachal Pradesh. Beside this eight police stations bordering Assam were declared “disturbed” areas under the AFSPA, 1958.

in this regard a notification issued by the Ministry of Home Affairs. Tirap, Changlang and Longding districts in Arunachal Pradesh and the areas falling within the jurisdiction of the eight police stations in the districts of Arunachal Pradesh, bordering the state of Assam, are declared as disturbed area’ under Section 3 of the Armed Forces (Special Powers) Act, 1958 up to September 30, 2018 w.e.f. April 1, 2018, unless withdrawn earlier,” the notification said.

The eight police stations are — Balemu and Bhalukpong police stations in West Kameng district, Seijosa police station in East Kameng district, Balijan police station in Papumpare district, Namsai and Mahadevpur police stations in Namsai district, Roing police station in Lower Dibang Valley district and Sunpura police station in Lohit district.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *